Robert DeLeo

© Carrerafoto | Dreamstime

LISTEN: Stone Temple Pilots Release New Song "Roll Me Under"

February 1, 2018

Stone Temple Pilots conducted an extensive search for their new lead singer, Jeff Gutt, who was a contestant on the TV music performance show X-Factor, and in November, the band introduced the singer to their fans with the new song “Meadow” and followed with “Never Enough.”

Now, STP have released “Roll Me Under,” an energetic rocker that showcases Gutt’s powerful melodic vocal style.

Gutt is the third singer for the band. Original vocalist Scot Weiland performed on and off through the band’s glory days but died in 2015 during a period when he was out of the group. The band continued by hiring Chester Bennington for an EP and tour, but Bennington had to bolt due to obligations with his main band, Linkin Park. Still, after every setback, Stone Temple Pilots have carried on.

Listen to “Roll Me Under” here:

Bassist Robert DeLeo told Rolling Stone that he played around with the same riffs for years, and those riffs went on to become “Roll Me Under," which was not only one of the first songs he wrote for the album but also one of the first Gutt sang.

The new track will be featured on the band's upcoming self-titled LP (track listing below) due out on March 16. STP will later hit the road in support of the upcoming release—see the list of tour dates below!

Stone Temple Pilots track listing:

1. Middle of Nowhere
2. Guilty
3. Meadow
4. Just a Little Lie
5. Six Eight
6. Thought She’d Be Mine
7. Roll Me Under
8. Never Enough
9. The Art of Letting Go
10. Finest Hour
11. Good Shoes
12. Reds & Blues