Almost Acoustic Christmas: Photos, recaps, interviews, and more!
"Love songs are what make rock ‘n roll go around."

For such a young-looking band, it might be shocking to some that Jimmy Eat World is coming up on their 20th anniversary.

The Arizona-based band started with frontman Jim Adkins and drummer Zach Lind playing music their senior year in high school. Fittingly, break-out tunes like “The Middle” were rife with youthful angst and 20-something identity crises. But their upcoming album Damage was described by Adkins to be an “adult break-up record.”

A song from the album, “I Will Steal You Back,” world premiered this morning on The Kevin & Bean Show and Adkins briefly explained the grown-up sentiment behind the classic Jimmy Eat World mid-tempo sonic love letter.

“Love songs are what make rock ‘n roll go around. It’s just sort me trying to take an honest look at what that might be in an older context. In a non-bubblegum kind of way,” explained Adkins. “It’s also kind of more about bettering ourselves in the process. It’s about focusing on making decision instead of just resolutions.”

Twenty years later and with almost eight albums under his belt, has Jim Adkins finally become a responsible, conscientious adult wallowing in the subtle complexities of being grown-up?

Maybe. But it hasn’t stopped the musician from doing what he has loved since he was young—making music.

When Adkins gets time off, he spends it making music and covering songs (including Whitney Houston’s “I Want To Dance With Somebody”) with local bands in the Phoenix area where there’s always “something positive” to engage in.

“I play music. You don’t clock out of this gig, man,” Adkins joked. “You just kind of shift what you’re doing. You’re playing; you’re performing. That’s a whole lot of fun. Or working on new material and writing or trying to just challenge yourself and come up with new ideas. Just playing with friends for fun. It’s great.”

Adkins said that looking at his “rough schedule for the foreseeable future,” Jimmy Eat World will be busy until the summer of 2014. They will also be releasing a limited-edition 7-inch EP for Record Store Day (April 20) featuring the LP’s title track “Damage,” along with and a cover of “Stop Whispering,” from Radiohead‘s 1993 album Pablo Honey.

Damage Tracklist

1. Appreciation
2. Damage
3. Lean
4. Book of Love
5. I Will Steal You Back
6. Please Say No
7. How’d You Have Me
8. No, Never
9. Byebyelove
10. You Were Good

–Nadia Noir, CBS Radio Los Angeles

Comments (7)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From The World Famous KROQ

HD Radio Sound Space
Kevin & Bean Podcast
Stream KROQ HD2

Listen Live