In advance of the 10th anniversary reissue of the album Give Up, the Postal Service has released a new song, “A Tattered Line of String.”

The upbeat, synth-pop tune from band members Ben Gibbard of Death Cab for Cutie and producer Jimmy Tamborello features vocals from Jenny Lewis (of Rilo Kiley and Jenny & Johnny fame), who also appears on “Turn Around,” the other new song slated to appear on the anniversary reissue. The two new songs are among 15 bonus tracks that come with the set.

With the release of the new song, the Postal Service has offered up pre-orders for the deluxe edition, scheduled for release on April 9. It will be available in multiple formats, including a special limited edition 3-LP vinyl version on red, clear and white vinyl on and

Certified platinum (more than one million copies sold) last October, Give Up is the second-best selling full-length in the history of the Sub Pop label behind Nirvana’s debut, Bleach.

The newly reunited band recently announced a slew of concert dates, including this year’s Coachella festival and a headlining show at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York.

-Scott T. Sterling, CBS Local


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From The World Famous KROQ

HD Radio Sound Space
Kevin & Bean Podcast
Stream KROQ HD2

Listen Live